South Carolina REALTORS® hold successful Annual Conference in Charleston


COLUMBIA, S.C. – September 26, 2013 – (RealEstateRama) — The 2013 South Carolina REALTORS® (SCR) Annual Conference was a big success with 300 hundred REALTORS® from across the state in attendance. The event was held at the Marriott in Charleston September 11-13.

At the conference were a large array of education sessions, including a technology BarCamp. Nightly events, such as the REALTOR® Political Action Committee fundraiser, auction, and reception brought REALTORS® together to support their industry, all while having the opportunity to network with their colleagues.

At the Opening General Session, REALTORS® joined together to congratulate the 2013 REALTOR® of the Year and other award winners:

REALTOR® of the Year – Ken Jackson of RE/MAX, was named SCR’s 2013 REALTOR® of the Year. Jackson plays an impressive juggling act between his career, SCR, community, church, and family involvement. He is a past honoree of SCR’s Distinguished Service Award and was named the 2011 “Best Realtor in the Pee Dee” by readers of the Morning News. He is a past recipient of the Order of the Palmetto – the highest civilian honor awarded by the Governor, for his, “exceptional dedicated service to our state.” He is also a past president of the Pee Dee REALTORS® Association and SCR.

REALTOR® Advocate Award – The South Carolina REALTORS® presented the REALTOR® Advocate Award to Andy Twisdale of Hilton Head Island. This award is given annually to a member who demonstrates a constant effort and unwavering commitment as an advocate for the real estate industry.

W. Mack Chamblee Quality of Life Award – The South Carolina REALTORS® presented the 2013 W. Mack Chamblee Quality of Life Award to Representative Bill Sandifer of Seneca. Whether its been fighting to tie real estate license fees to the Real Estate Commission, working against burdensome regulation or ensuring a healthy business and homeownership climate in SC, Chairman Sandifer has been an advocate for REALTOR® issues and does not shy from fighting for what is right.

Distinguished Service Award – The South Carolina REALTORS® presented the 2013 Distinguished Service Award to Donna Smith, from the Greater Greenville Association of REALTORS®. This award recognizes those REALTOR® members and Executive Officers who have gone above and beyond in their outstanding and ongoing voluntary commitments to SCR.

Omega Tau Rho Medallion of Honor – Membership in this honorary fraternity is represented by the Medallion of Service, which symbolizes the recognition and appreciation of accorded inductees for their contributions to NAR, its affiliated institutes, societies and councils. The Medallion was presented to Gordon Seay from the Greater Greenville Association of REALTORS® and Max Hill, from the Charleston Trident Association of REALTORS®. Recipients of this award have given their time and talents to the service of their local, state and national associations, going above and beyond the call of duty.

James R. Peters Association Executive Award of Excellence – The South Carolina REALTORS® presented the James R. Peters Association Executive Award of Excellence to Kristyne Shelton of the Aiken Board of REALTORS®. This award is presented annually to an individual who has truly excelled in his or her role as an executive of a local South Carolina REALTOR® association. Receiving this award is considered a pinnacle achievement in REALTOR® association management.

C. Dan Joyner REALTOR® Community Service Award – The South Carolina REALTORS® presented the 2013 C. Dan Joyner REALTOR® Community Service Award to Cece Stricklin of Charleston. He is the founding Chairman of the Charleston Trident Association’s “Reading with REALTORS®” Program. In the Fall of 2007, the program took off pairing 40 REALTOR® volunteer members with 40 students reading one-on-one with them for an hour each week at one of the most in-need elementary schools in Charleston county. This REALTOR® has tirelessly given his time, talents, and own resources to improve the lives of young children through learning experiences, enrichment, and mentoring.

The conference wrapped up on Friday with the annual SCR Board of Directors meeting, where the following 2014 SCR and REALTOR® Education Foundation (REF) Officers and Directors were elected:

President: Randy Harrison, Coastal Carolina (Currently serving as President Elect)

President Elect: Fritzi Barbour, Greater Greenville

Treasurer: David Kent, Charleston Trident

Secretary: David Phillips, Western Upstate

Immediate Past President: Alexander “Sandy” Stone, III, Charleston Trident

Vice President, Region 1: Herb Koger, Charleston Trident

Vice President, Region 2: Todd McDaniel, Beaufort

Vice President, Region 3: David Alexander, Coastal Carolina

Vice President, Region 4: Deborah Griggs, Greater Pee Dee

Vice President, Region 5: Laura Derrick, Central Carolina

Vice President, Region 6: Kevin Cope, Western Upstate

Vice President, Region 7: Patricia Wilds, Spartanburg

Parliamentarian: Appointed by Incoming President

NAR Director (2014-2016): Donna Smith, Greater Greenville

NAR Region IV Vice President (2016): Gordon Seay, Greater Greenville

REF President (2014): Kathie Gajda, Greater Greenville

REF President Elect (2014): Rosie Elliott, Kershaw

REF Secretary/Treasurer (2014): Susan Lucas, Coastal Carolina

REF Immediate Past President (2014): Ruthie Smythe, Charleston Trident

Region 1 REF Director (2014-2016): Bud Poston, Charleston Trident

Region 2 REF Director (2014-2016): Vacant

Region 3 REF Director (2012-2014): Susan Lucas, Coastal Carolina

Region 4 REF Director (2014-2016): Kimberly Tabor, Sumter

Region 5 REF Director (2012-2014): Nancy Nelson, Central Carolina

Region 6 REF Director (2014-2016): Dawn Borkowski, Greater Greenville

Region 7 REF Director (2013-2015): Michael Dawson, Spartanburg


South Carolina REALTORS® (SCR), the largest professional trade association in the state, serves as the voice of real estate for 14,000 members involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries. REALTOR® is a registered trademark that identifies a professional in real estate who subscribes to a strict code of ethics as a member of SCR and the National Association of REALTORS®.

REALTOR® is a federally registered collective membership mark which identifies a real estate professional who is a Member of the National Association of REALTORS® and subscribes to its strict Code of Ethics. This email and any files sent with it are confidential. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender and then delete it immediately.

Michael Crist
mike (at) screaltors (dot) org


South Carolina  RealEstateRama is an Internet based Real Estate News and Press Release distributor for South Carolina Real Estate publishing community.

RealEstateRama Staff manage to selection and verify the real estate news for State of South Carolina.


Previous articleCongressman Rice and Colleagues Advance Water Resources Reform Bill
Next articleSouth Carolina REALTORS® Release September Market Numbers